Aircraft is defined as any machine that can derive support in the atmosphere from the reactions of the air other than the reactions of the air against Earth’s surface.

Different categories of aircraft require different aircraft oversight procedures, depending on the regulations they fall under.

Certified aircraft holding standard Certificate of airworthiness fall under both EU and national regulations. These aircraft are usually referred to as “EASA aircraft” because European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) is responsible for their certification on the EU territory.

Some aircraft are not subject to the Regulation (EU) 2018/1139. They are usually referred to as “Annex I aircraft“ after Annex I to the Regulation (EU) 2018/1139 OF THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT AND OF THE COUNCIL of 4 July 2018 on common rules in the field of civil aviation and establishing a European Union Aviation Safety Agency, that defines the categories of these aircraft. These aircraft fall under national regulations.

Aircraft engaged in “state activities” (military, customs, police, search and rescue, firefighting, coast guard and similar activities or services) are exempt from application of the Regulation (EU) 2018/1139 when engaged in those specific activities. Those activities are laid down in article 2.3.a) of the Regulation (EU) 2018/1139. These aircraft are subject to national rules.

The aircraft owner

The owner of the aircraft shall be responsible for the continuing airworthiness of aircraft and shall ensure that no flight takes place unless all of the following requirements are met:
  • the aircraft is maintained in an airworthy condition;
  • any operational and emergency equipment fitted is correctly installed and serviceable or
  • clearly identified as unserviceable;
  • the airworthiness certificate is valid;
  • the maintenance of the aircraft is performed in accordance with the approved maintenance programme. 

To fulfill the responsibilities, the aircraft owner may contract continuing airworthiness management tasks to CAMO or CAO. Then CAMO or CAO take responsibility to successfully conduct those tasks.

Aircraft Continuing Airworthiness Montoring (ACAM)

Satisfactory oversight of aircraft continuing airworthiness is obtained by ACAM programme performed by the CCAA.

CCAA performs aircraft sampling in its aircraft register to check satisfactory aircraft airworthiness status, also to evaluate owners’ aircraft continuing airworthiness care and check regulation compliance. 

Other useful information: